When I was born and was still tiny and wee

My mother felt she saw a “doctor” in me

I was still not out quite out of my diapers

But aspirations my mom had could not be tampered

My father had some other plans in his mind though

In my hand swings he saw moves of “tennis pro”

But since to everyone’s eyes I was as cute as kitten

My granny thought I could be a “star” with whom everyone was smitten

My sister thought I could break into a song & sing in glee

But a little problem was I was really couldn’t find the right key

My my I was still barely out of my baby crib

And the family had decided what I would be when I was big

Wonder if anyone will ask me what I want to be

Flying in the sky as a bird wild and free

2 thoughts on “My ambition

  1. Great post! I spent too long trying to be what others wanted me to be. Your post resonated with me and my new life. Thank you for spreading the question, “Wonder if anyone will ask me what I want to be…”

Leave a Reply

