Over a past few years in my life I have realized that the most important key to being successful is neither hard work nor intelligence but perseverance. In our instant-gratification, short-attention-span, multitasking world, we’ve lost sight of one core element of high achievement- ability to keep going on when all others give up. It comes from being committed to your goal, and from believing in yourself and in your goal’s possibility.  It borrows strength from resilience and optimism and brushes elbows with courage along the way.

It reminds me of the movie “Forrest Gump” – maybe declared as low IQ but the he had persistence to reach his goals. He had almost blind and single minded dedication to whatever task he took in his hands. Prodding along when nothing seems to be going your way is not easy. Your brain keep telling you to quit but if you persist success will surely come your way.There’s an old adage that says you can’t defeat a man who refuses to quit, and it’s as true today as when the words were first uttered.

Nothing has made me realize the value of perseverance more than running my own venture. It started with a dream and passion but as I launched the venture and got it running, at every step of the way I faced multiple challenges. There have been multiple times in past few  years when I wished I could simply shut it down and revert back to comfort of doing a job. But I persisted and I am glad I did. When I look back now I realize that the persistence has paid off.

Work or personal life persistence is a key to achieving your goals. “When the going gets tough, the tough get going”. So let’s get going and make our dreams a reality.

Leave a Reply

